Teething, Amber Teething Necklace and Hylands Teething Tablets

I have been a slacker.  I haven’t posted in almost a month!  I apologize for that.

I have a teething 6 month old at this point!  We have one little tooth peeking through the gum line on the bottom!  It has been a long process getting there!

I was in the middle of post a day 2011 and still really intend to do that, I just might have to start from here.  Enough of the apologies!  I totally have to share what has gotten me through these few weeks of teething hilariousness.  We started to know that something was up when R started growling.  She growled like a little animal all day long and when she wasn’t growling, she was screaming!  One day, I finally decided to feel her gums to try to get to the bottom of what was causing her crazy animal noises.  Sure enough there were two tiny bumps in her gums!  One was rough and almost through.

Immediately I put on her Amber Teething necklace and hoped for the best.  Two very rough days afterward, I discovered that it didn’t seem to be helping.  Upon doing some research, I realized that the lighter the color and the more cloudy the amber “beads” the more succinic acid content in the necklace.  I bought me necklace just from the aspect of how cool it looked and it is a pattern of light, dark, darker beads so there isn’t that much succinic acid in this particular necklace.  The best ones to get are the butter colored ones.  I am placing and order in the next few days for a lighter necklace.  I know several of my mom friends state they have the butter colored necklaces and never had a teething problem with their little ones!

That brings me to the part about Hyland’s Teething Tablets.  I will go ahead and put it out there that Hyland’s has temporarily issued a voluntary recall for these tablets and they should be coming out in early spring sometime.  Which I absolutely cannot wait for.  Let me tell you about these teething tablets.  I was at a play group the other day with R.  She went into super fussy mode and was inconsolable.  One of the mommies in my group pulled out her bottle of Hyland’s Teething Tablets that she bought before the recall.  She handed me two tablets and I put them into R’s mouth.  It wasn’t 10 minutes later that I had a completely calm baby!  It was magical.  I am currently using the Hyland’s teething gel until the tablets come back out and that seems to work, but just not as fast.  I will be one of the first in line for the teething tablets!

Leave a Reply

